The Central Working Committee for The Future Awards has announced three special-vehicle sector Town Hall Meetings in the month of June – in the build up to August 26, Nigeria’s biggest youth event, The Future Awards 2012.

The Town Hall meetings will be hosted by popular culture event Taruwa; Conversations for Change, which is an organisation for young professionals committed to nation building, the British Council’s Creative Enterprise Series and Lagos’s Co-Creation Hub, which has become a model for involvement and convergence with technology.

“This is yet another innovation from Nigeria’s most respected youth platform,” said OhimaiAtafo, who is chair of the CWC. “The idea is to have town hall meetings targeted at the broad sectors that the awards is interested in. You will remember that this year’s categories were segmented into Innovation, Creativity, Entrepreneurship, Entertainment, and Excellence in Public Service, and these town halls are focused on these.”


The town hall meetings are focused on generating the best nominations in the various categories as well as stimulating purposive discussions about growth and depth in relevant sectors especially for young people.

The CC Hub Town Hall Meeting is focused on such categories as: Innovator of the Year (Science & Technology), Innovator of the Year (Education), Entrepreneur of the Year (Technology) amongst others.

Themed ‘Hope and Courage’, the Taruma meeting is focused on such categories as Creative Artist of the Year, On-Air Personality of the Year, Entrepreneur of the Year (Entertainment) amongst others.

The ‘Conversations for Change’ meeting is focused on such categories as Excellence in Service (Government), Excellence in Service (Journalism), and Excellence in Service (Corporate).

There will also be a meeting with the Creative Enterprise Series held in conjunction with the British Council to focus on such categories as Designer of the Year, Entrepreneur of the Year (Style), amongst others.

The events hold on June 22, 24, 26, and 27 respectively. These meetings will complement the usual town hall meetings across the country’s geo-political zones. The Future Awards will visit Abuja, Port Harcourt, Calabar, Ife, and Awka.

The Future Awards Season 7 was launched on May 29 with the theme ‘Tear Down These Walls!’ For a full list of the award categories and other information about The Future Awards, visit or


The Awards proper hold on August 26, 2012. Media Partners include Channels TV, TV Continental, Wazobia FM, Nigeria Info FM, BellaNaija, LindaIkejiBlog, 360Nobs, Premium Times, NET, and Jobberman. The Official Media Partners are Y!, Africa Magic, and Cool FM.




Referred to by the World Bank as ‘Nobel Prize for young Africans” and “the biggest youth Awards in Africa” by the London Metropolitan University, The Future Awards continues to be the most influential and popular youth platform that identifies young people who have excelled at their work and by so doing inspire others, celebrates their achievements, and showcases them as role models to inspire a generation of Africans to believe in themselves and the future of their countries.


With outreaches to Ghana, Ethiopia and South Africa, The Future Awards has been described by respected leaders as “Africa’s biggest youth event” and in six years, has produced 126 winners and over 1,000 nominees. Our mission at The Future Awards is to inspire leadership and build enterprise.


The Future Awards presents winners and nominees from diverse backgrounds: from female farmer MosunmolaUmoru to internationally acclaimed author ChimamandaNgoziAdichie, NASA scholar TosinOtitoju to 1-second power change over inventor based in AjegunleOtejiriOghogori; NdidiNwuneli of LEAP Africa (MFR) to Dustbin Estate Advocate; ToluSangosanya. The last winner for Young Person of the Year, was Rolex Award winner and farm technology entrepreneur NnaemekaIkegwuonu – this is a critical mass that are positioned as leaders and whose collective influence can change the leadership equation for an evolving nation.